Reservoir Media Management - 8 THINGS WE LOVE ABOUT STATIK SELEKTAH’S 8
  • Playlist
Playlist save clear
Your playlist is currently empty.



Ain’t A Damn Thing Change! Since his start up in 2007, Statik Selektah has been a hip-hop staple. Returning with his eighth studio album and a star-studded list of guest features, the 18-track LP, 8, proves that Statik’s artistry just gets better and better with each drop. Stream and download 8 here.

1. New music with longtime pal Joey Bada$$

After years of working together, Statik and Joey Bada$$’s have become quite the dynamic duo. Earlier this year, Statik made headlines with his contributions on Bada$$’s acclaimed album All-Americakkkan Badass, most particularly the project’s final song, “Legendary.” featuring J Cole. Off 8, the pair collaborated on the track “Ain’t A Damn Thing Change,” alongside G-Eazy and Enisa.

2. A cameo by his daughter, Harley

With the birth of his daughter in 2015, Statik found inspiration in being a father. Prior to her birth, he took an audio recording of Harley's heartbeat and created the instrumental track, “Harley’s Blues”, and on 8 we see the follow up to that song. Dedicating the opening track of the album to her, Statik asks, “Hey Harley, they thought that was the last album? What’s the name of this one, baby?” while her voice responds, “Daddy! 8!” The lullaby-like song continues with artist Francesca talking about growing up and being in the world, as she sings, “little girl you must try to be strong/one say the whole world will save you.” In addition to the album drop, Statik released a music video for “But You Don’t Hear Me Tho,” in honor of all the hip-hip dads, featuring himself and his daughter.

3. A Fiery 2 Chainz cut

Statik and 2 Chainz are back and dropping some heat! After releasing their track “Smoke Break” last year, the hip-hop legends are collaborating on the track “Man Of The Hour,” which also features Wiz Khalifa. The lead single off the album amps up Statik’s smooth signature beats, introducing a mix of horns, drums, and clever wordplay. Speaking about the track, Chainz took to Instagram to comment “One of my favorites, I freestyled this one."

4. His signature Boom Bap beats, but bigger

Talking to Music Industry Quarterly earlier this year, he hinted that “a lot of my hardcore fans were kind of surprised to see me drop a single with 2 Chainz and Wiz Khalifa—but the record is still very hip-hop. I didn’t step into a trap world." Though Statik experiments with new collaborators like Run The Jewels and G-Eazy, when asked further about his new release, he explained to Billboard, “You can expect that Statik sound, but just a lot bigger.”

5. Statik is keeping hip-hop alive

As The Hip-Hop Crib said re: "No.8" featuring Conway, Westside Gunn, and Termanology: “This new Statik track proves hip-hop will never die.” Enough said.

6. Major Key inspiration from DJ Khaled

Sitting down with HipHopDX, Statik revealed that he drew inspiration from DJ Khaled on the new album. ”Not even his work ethic because I’ve always had that work ethic, but the fact that he’s elevating and elevating at the age he is at,” he explained. “It’s like you know what? I have to keep elevating…Khaled is doing what he’s doing, he’s on his 11th or 12th album, and we started doing albums right around the same time. We’ve been friends for over 10 years, but he really inspires me and not many people do that.”

7. Star studded collaborations

8 features some of hip-hops most well-known artists. In addition to Reservoir writers 2 Chainz and Joey Bada$$, the album features Run The Jewels, Sean Price, and Prodigy, among others. The new collabs showcase Statik’s versatility as a producer and a DJ, coming through with smooth, old-school style instrumentals, while giving the MCs an opportunity to flex their muscles. For example, the third track on the album, “Put Jewels on It” is a departure from Run The Jewels typical flow, which is often solid and chaotic; here the artists have time to lyrically converse which each other, as they trade verses over Statik’s iconic sound. While being interviewed on The Cipher, Statik told listeners, "“There is something for absolutely everybody on this album. No matter what kind of hip-hop you like, even jazz lovers.”

8. Fresh perspectives

Statik spoke with HipHopDX, explaining “I needed a break, I felt like I put so much work into Lucky 7. The album dropped, I was on tour, my daughter was born a couple weeks later and I had enough…at that point it was eight years since my first album—and I was sick of recreating the same king of records. On this album, I don’t have that feeling. I feel like I’m starting a new wave—not a new wave, but a new cycle in my career.”

add comment Comments

Click here to add a comment. Comments can be viewed by everyone.

Powered by Synchtank® | Patents Pending
Site designed in NYC by Rivington Design House